Broadside Reading Series: Fall 2020 II

poem in which nothing happens by Zefyr Lisowski
poem in which nothing happens (2020) Zefyr Lisowski
Leila Ortiz
Leila Ortiz
Zefyr Lisowski
poem in which nothing happens (2020) Zefyr Lisowski
Zefyr Lisowski
Zefyr Lisowski (2020)
hand dyed paper with poem printed letterpress
Transcription from an NYPD Walkie Talkie Found After a Scuffle between Protestors and Police at the Staten Island Ferry Terminal (2020) Zahra Patterson

Event Info

The Fall 2020 Broadside Reading Series was curated by Joey De Jesus.It features six writers from various backgrounds and writing disciplines, collaborating with the Center’s Artists-in-Residence to create a collection of limited edition letterpress-printed broadsides. Each collaboration explores the relationship of text, image, and design, incorporating the artists’ visual conveyance of writers’ poetry and prose. To celebrate these collaborative broadsides, CBA will host a series of online readings by the authors accompanied by the artists they worked with.

This evening’s broadsides were designed and printed by Keith Graham & Faride Mereb.


Leila Ortiz was born June 15th 1974 on the Lower East Side of Manhattan and lived there in her early childhood. She was raised in Park Slope, Brooklyn. Leila is a Social Worker who is interested in interrupting the historically white, heteronormative values of the profession. She is the author of two chapbooks: Girl Life (Recreation League 2016) and A Mouth is not A Place (Dancing Girl Press 2017).

Zefyr Lisowski (b. 1994 is a Southern trans poet, the author of the Lizzie Borden grief book Blood Box (Black Lawrence Press, 2019) and an interdisciplinary Pisces. She’s a poetry co-editor at Apogee Journal and has received support from Tin House Summer Writers Workshop, Blue Mountain Center, and elsewhere; her poems and essays have appeared in Waxwing, The Offing, DIAGRAM, Literary Hub, and more. Zef’s the recipient of a 2020 Center for the Humanities Adjunct Incubator Grant for Wolf Inventory, a collaborative film about ghost stories and sexual violence. She lives in Brooklyn.


Joey De Jesus is the author of HOAX (Operating System, 2020), NOCT- The Threshold of Madness (The Atlas Review, 2019), and co-author, alongside Sade LaNay, of Writing Voice into the Archive vol. 1, edited by Jennifer Tamayo with support from UC Berkeley’s Center for Race and Gender. Joey received the 2019-20 BRIC ArtFP Project Room Commission and 2017 NYFA/NYSCA Fellowship in Poetry. Poems have appeared in the Academy of American Poets Poem-A-Day, Artists Space, Barrow Street, Bettering American Poetry, The Brooklyn Rail, Brooklyn Magazine, The New Museum, The Newtown Literary Review, Southern Humanities Review, Symmetries: An Anthology of the Dominique Levy Gallery, and elsewhere. They’ve performed in Art Omi, Basilica Soundscape, The Nuyorican, The Poetry Project and elsewhere. They’ve performed in Artists Space, Basilica Soundscape, The New Museum, The Poetry Project, Art Omi and elsewhere.

Your cart is empty.